top of page

ELECTION RESULTSAkron/Canton PicksNew Mayors;Lynn Lee Elected Norton Councilwoman

AKRON/CANTON/NORTON, OH — The I-77 corridor saw two new Mayors elected this November - promising to help build better neighborhoods.

    By winning the tough May primary, Shammas Malik - former Ward8 councilman - officially became the Mayor-elect of Akron winning the uncontested November mayor’s race.

    This Akron election total ballots cast were 191,969, out of 372,216 registered voters.  Overall Turnout was 51.57%

Malik expressed his gratitude to Akron residents at a joyous watch party at the Akron Civic Theatre, "I am honored to serve as your next mayor and am heartened by the confidence you have placed in our shared vision. Together, I know we can build a bright and exciting future for Akron.”

    Shammas Malik will officially begin his term as Mayor of Akron on January 1st, 2024, with a public swearing-in ceremony to follow on January 6th, 2024.

    Canton voters threw their support to electing its newest Mayor. Mayor-elect William V. Sherer II, a iron workers union business manager earned 9,417 votes to businessman and first time Republican challenger Roy Scott DePew’s 4,451 votes.

    Mrs. Judith Lynn Lee will be the first black woman ever elected to council at large seat in the City of Norton.

"No words can express the way I am feeling right now. I am so elated at being the, top vote getter in a race where I was the only woman, along with being successful in a city where most of its citizens do not share the same political party as I.

    Best of all, I stand proud at knowing that I have made history being the first Black. woman ever elected to council in the city of Norton; I am so excited and truly appreciate being elected to Norton City Council At-Large!"

The third time was the charm for Mrs. Lee who took the lead on election day and never looked back. Lynn earned 2,090 votes. Other candidates were Bill Mowery - 1,969 votes; Paul Eader- 1.968 votes; and in last place- Joe Kenan.

    Donald G. Herbert was re-elected unopposed for Norton’s Ward 2.

    Mike Zika defeated two challengers Amber Johnson and Charlene Whipkey to become Norton’s Mayor.

    Councilwoman-at-large Linda Omobien joins Eric Garrett and Jeff Fusco as At- large representees on the Akron City Council.

    Always a council top vote getter, Linda Omobien received 26,838 votes. “Thanks once again to the citizens of Akron for their vote of confidence,” said Omobien.

    “Words are not adequate to express my sincere gratitude to the citizens of Akron who have elected me for the ninth time. I am eternally grateful.”

    After serving 14 years on city council, Omobien told Your Reporter newspaper that …”this will be my last time running for public office. 

    Linda plans to dedicate the last four years of her political career mentoring young folks to replace her-  “because I believe the old must make way for the young.”

    ”We still have a lot of work to do,” said Omobien, “such as addressing the gun violence; home repair needs; making our city more equitable; spending the last of the ARPA dollars; homelessness; etc.”

    Omobien promises to continue to put people first “which has been the hallmark of my entire political career.”

“I am excited about Akron’s future because with a new Mayor and a new direction, I believe Akron will strive to work for people again.”

    Eric Garrett, age 52, is excited and overjoyed with the opportunity to serve on the City Council. He received 24,804 votes.

    Garrett is an outstanding entrepreneur and owner of Beyond Expectation Barber College in West Akron. He has a proven track record of graduating 250 new barbers and helping start over 50 new Barber/Beauty shops in Northeastern Ohio.

    Perineal politician Jeff Fusco was re-elected as councilman at large with 25,976 votes. Councilman Fusco has served as service director, deputy mayor, and interim Mayor.

    Akron City Council President Margo Sommerville won the Ward 3 post. Johnnie Hannah is the newly elected Ward 5 councilman. Ward 4 new councilwoman is Jan Davis.

    Ward 9’s contested race saw Tina R. Boyles beat Micah R. Townsend.

    Other unopposed council races were Ward 1 -Nancy L. Holland; Ward 2 - Phil Lombardo:   Ward 6 - Bradley McKitrick; Ward 8 - James Hardy; and Ward10 -Sharon Connor.

    Incumbent Akron Municipal Court Judges Annalisa Williams and David Hamilton were unopposed.

    Democrat Summit County Clerk of Courts Sandra Kurt is the new Municipal Clerk of Court. Presently holding Summit County Clerk of Courts, Kurt got 29,140 votes to knock out the last elected city Republican office holder - incumbent Clerk Debbie Walsh. Walsh - appointed by the Summit County GOP in 2021 to replace outgoing Municipal Court Clerk Jim Laria - got 21,997 votes.

    The legacy of service by Barara Sykes was appreciated by Akron voters who elected her to the Akron School Board.

    Barbara is the first black woman to serve on Akron City Council (Ward 2) and At-Large Councilmember, a Deputy Auditor for Summit County, Ohio State Representative, President & CEO of Ohio United Way, and State Director of AARP. She currently is the President & CEO of the Ohio Legislative Black Caucus Foundation. 

    Barbara Sykes said, "I am Honored that the citizens of Akron have entrusted me to serve the 20,000 students and families who attend Akron Public Schools. I know that public schools work, and they are an important part of the fabric of our community.  I look forward to working with parents, teachers, administrators, board members, and the community to ensure the next generation of students can rely on a strong public school system that prepares them for their desired futures".

    Summer Hall came in second place in the race for Akron School Board. Hall comes from a Akron family with deep roots in the community activism and civil rights.  She is the granddaughter of Marian Hall, Akron community and Civil Rights Activist and niece od Helen Arnold, first black woman to serve on the Akron Board of Education.

    Rene Molenaur - a Ph.D. in Urban Education and Educational Policy from Cleveland State and Summer Hall  won new  seats on the School Board.

    Among the log jam of candidates missing the cut were Gwen Bryant, Phil Montgomery, Myron Lewis, and Keith Mills.

Mayor Judge Wins

Barberton Re-election

BARBERTON, OH — Barberton Mayor William B.  Judge will continue to lead the City of Barberton along with his leadership team. In a close race Judge received 3,637 votes to challenger Megan M. Eberhart’s 3,523 votes.

Other Barberton administrators re-elected was Finance Director Jeremy Flaker and Law Director Lisa Okolish – who overcame challenger Jason Charlion.

    Councilman Kenneth Cheatham - W-2 retained his seat by beating Phil Tisby. Councilman Shorter Griffin -Ward 3  and Jennifer Hager - Ward 1 were unopposed.

    Griffin, a retiree, is president of the Barberton Noon Kiwanis, treasurer of Magic City Democratic Club and the Board of Zoning Appeals. He is a big supporter of the Barberton NAACP.

    Emily Beck beat Tina Ludwig in the Ward 4 race. Rebecca Everhart beat Joyce Coburn for the Ward 4 seat.

In Ward 6, Monte Harris beat Kinberly Trenary.

    Magistrate Cletus Pulliam- of the Akron Municipal Court- lost his bid to become Barberton’s first Black judge.

An former assistant Summit County Prosecutor, Pullian was beaten by incumbent Judge Todd McKenner. Judge Diane Sheverson was re-elected over Atty Steve Elliot.


The Reporter Newspaper
bottom of page