top of page

General Election 2024 Races Set

(Akron, OH) – Voters came out in the March Primary to pick the candidates that will appear on the November Presidential ballot in the State of Ohio. Local candidates fought to get into the primary spotlight that was overshadowed by the battle between incumbent President Joe Biden and challenger Donald Trump- a party race that was already determined in early primary wins. These are the unofficial results at press time.

US Senator Sherrod Brown waited in the wings as three Ohio Republicans battled to see who will face him in the November General Elections. Bernie Marino beat challengers Matt Dolan and Secretary of State Frank LaRose to win the Republican nomination. U S Senator Sherrod Brown will faceTrump backed  challenger  Bernie Marino.

The real excitement was in several contested races in Summit County’s  13th Congressional race, several State Representatives, County Clerk of Courts, and Summit County Council seats.

            Summit Council District #5 will see Brandon Ford- a retired Akron police officer,  beat challenger Ralph Paulk- Tiretown Golf Club president  and retired ABJ sports journalist.  Ford will face Rep Cynthia D. Blake in the fall.


Matt Shaughnessy-  (D) will face Joseph A. Kacyon-  (Rep) in  the fal race for Summit Council District 8. Shaughnessy  beat  Rick Justice  in the primary.

            Uncontested County Council primary candidates will move to face the fall General Elections. District 1: Rita Darrow (D) vs Yulia Grey- (R).

District 6: Bethany McKenney (D) vs Ryan Shank (write in D).

            Unopposed County Councilpersons are: John Schmidt (D) District 2; and  Jeff Wilhite (D) District 4.

U.S. Congresswoman Emilia Sykes (D-13th) will face Republican challenger Kevin Coughlin in the Nov General Election. Coughlin beat  Republican challengers Chris Banweg and Richard A. Morckel.

State Rep. Veronica Sims, fresh from her appointment to the Ohio House, will be unopposed for the 33rd District State Representative seat in November.

In the 31st State House race,  A. J. Harris (D) will battle Bill  Roemer. 

Democratic Jim Colopy will face Jack Daniels- ( R) in the battle for the 32nd House State Rep. Daniels beat Mary Stormer for the nomination.

Derrick Hall- an Atty and APS board member, beat Nathan Jarosz and Diane Edwards in the Dem Primary for Ohio State Rep #34th District. Hall will face  Adam Bozic- ( R) in the fall.

The 35th State House race will see Mark Curtis (D) facing Steve Demertiou (R). 

Voters will be choosing between State  28th District Senator candidates Jon Leissler (R) and Casey Weinstein (D).

Summit County Executive Irene Shapiro and Summit County Engineer  Alan Brubaker will appear on the November ballot unopposed

Interim Summit County Prosecutor Elliot Kolkovich (D) will face challenger John W. Greven- ( R). Summit County Sheriff Kandy Fatheree will face Shane Barker- (R).

\Incumbent Summit County Fiscal Officer Kristin M. Scalise- (D) will be facing challenger Scott W. Sigel- ( R).

            Common Pleas Judge Kathlyn Michael has no opposition this fall. Contested Common Pleas judicial races are: Joseph James Darwal facing Jennifer  D. Towell; and Susan Baker Ross facing Susan K. Steinhauer.


The Reporter Newspaper
bottom of page