top of page

Speaker Pelosi names impeachment managers

In advance of the House sending two articles of impeachment to the U.S. Senate for the upcoming trial of President Donald Trump, Speaker Nancy Pelosi on Wednesday named seven managers to oversee the trial, the third in U.S. history.

“Today, I have the privilege of naming the managers of the impeachment trial of the president, “ Pelosi said. “It is their responsibility to present the very strong case for President’s impeachment and removal.”

The racially mixed group of managers, which includes two African Americans, are led by U.S. Representative Adam Schiff, chair of the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence. The managers will prosecute Trump during the Senate trial.

Other members include:

  • U.S. Representative Jerry Nadler, chair of the House Judiciary Committee. Nadler is from New York

  • U.S. Representative Zoe Lofgren, chair of the House of the committee on House Administration. Lofgren is from California

  • U.S. Representative Hakeem Jefferies, chair of the House Democratic Caucus. Jefferies represents a district in New York

Congressman Hakeem Jefferies

  • Congresswoman Val Demings,

U.S. Representative Val Demings, member of the both the House Permanent Select Committee and the House Judiciary Committee. Jennings represents a district in Florida.

  • U.S. Representative Jason Crow, a member of the House Armed Services Committee. Crow represents a district in Colorado.

  • U.S. Representative Sylvia Garcia, a member of the House Judiciary Committee. Garcia represents a district in Texas.

The seven will oversee the impeachment trial of President Trump. The House voted to impeach him in December. The articles of impeachment charged Trump with abuse of power and obstruction of Congress.

Trump is the third president to be impeached. The other two were Bill Clinton (1998) and Andrew Johnson (1868). Neither was convicted of impeachment which would have led to their removal from office.

Richard Nixon, the 37th president of the United States, resigned from office on August 8, 1974, before he was impeached.

The Reporter Newspaper
bottom of page